top of page


The Great Apes are bonobos, chimpanzees, gorillas and orangutans. Please click on the images below to learn more about their taxonomy, status, distribution and conservation of each.

The IUCN group that specializes on Great Ape Conservation, called the Section on Great Apes (SGA) of the IUCN SSC Primate Specialist Group, is comprised of 140 leading great ape scientists and conservationists, with an Executive Committee of 22 senior scientists. The SGA has the objective of preventing the extinction of great apes by providing sound technical advice on issues regarding their survival using the most up-to-date information available on their numbers and distributions and the threats they face.


Copy of J&H 479_Humle.jpeg
Pan troglodytes

There are four sub-species of chimpanzees living across Africa. 

Image by 7103983 from Pixabay.jpg
Pan paniscus
Chimpanzees and Bonobos

There is one  species of bonobos living in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Africa

Alternate Cover - Female grooming Silverback gorilla - Volcanoes NP - Rwanda - Dec 10 2014
Gorilla spp.

There are two species of Gorilla, each with two subspecies, living in Africa.

Pongo spp.

There are three species of orangutan, with three subspecies of Bornean orangutan, living in Indonesia and Malaysia on the islands of Borneo and Sumatra

bottom of page